The School Board...

...... heard Board member, Rocky Enfield, recite the Elkhart Promise.

- heard Tonda Hines, program manager of the districts 21st Century Community Learning Center Grant, introduce Jay Brockman, Director of the Center for Civic Innovation at Notre Dame; Juan Carlos, a senior in the Music Education Program and IUSB, Site Manager of the Elkhart Catalyst Internship Program, and Nakara Murray, a teacher at the Elkhart Area Career Center, who shared highlights of the 21st Century Self Care Program. The grant provides before and after school programming for students at Roosevelt STEAM Academy and Pierre Moran. The four-year grant was awarded during the 2017-2018 school year.
- accepted with appreciation the following donations made to Elkhart Community Schools (ECS) for the Engineering, Technology and Innovation building fund: \$215,000 from the Community Foundation of Elkhart, \$12,500 from Patrick Industries; and \$10,000 from an anonymous donor.
- approved proposed school fundraisers in accordance with Board policy. The funds raised through the listed activities are deposited into each school's extra-curricular fund.
-approved as amended revisions to Board Policy 3120.03S Employment of Substitutes, as initially presented at the July 23rd regular meeting. The amended revision was to clarify "ECS retired support staff".
-reviewed proposed revisions to Administrative Regulation DLC Mileage Chart, as initially presented at the July 23rd regular meeting.
-approved proposed revisions and waived second reading of Board Policy 3422.02S Mechanics' Compensation Plan.
-approved proposed revisions and waived second reading of Board Policy 3422.12S Employment in Miscellaneous Positions Compensation Plan. A transportation clerk position was added.
-appointed Doug Weaver to the Elkhart Health & Aquatics Board of Directors. In response to Board inquiry, Mr. Thorne will research the agreement and report back on the length of the term of the appointment.
-approved the submission of the following grant applications: Workforce Diploma Reimbursement Program to the Governor's Workforce Cabinet from adult education in the amount of \$110,629; and an Equipment Upgrade grant to the Elkhart Community Foundation in the amount of \$67,664.

- accepted the following grants from the Elkhart Education Foundation as presented by Ashley Molyneaux: four Innovative Teaching Grants totaling \$10,026.21: Beck – coffee cart \$788.20; Hawthorne – sensory hallways \$5,000; Memorial – Fashion and Textiles \$999.32; Hawthorne – refocus area \$3,238.69; eight Extracurricular Grants totaling \$12,510: Memorial – boys soccer/fed and included \$500; Hawthorne – community events \$1,750; Memorial – volleyball/Purdue camp \$550; EHS – Elite \$1,940; Central – National Honor Society – graduation cords \$870; Central – football/technology upgrade \$5,000; Memorial – innovative games \$1,000; all schools – Everybody Learns to Swim \$900.
-approved an overnight request from Pierre Moran for 7th and 8th graders to travel to New York City and Philadelphia on June 9-14, 2020 to visit historical sites.
- confirmed the administrative appointment of certified staff member Kimberly Boynton to director of special services at ESC.
- confirmed the administrative reassignments of the following two (2) certified staff members: David Bird to assistant principal at Central and transition principal of the school of natural resources; and Matthew Werbiansky to assistant principal at Central.
- confirmed the retirement of certified staff member, Robert Woods, director of elementary curriculum at ESC.
- confirmed employment of the following fifteen (15) certified staff members: MacKenzie Andrews, art at North Side; Sarah Biddle, grade 6 at Daly; Alexis Carroll-Troyer, kindergarten at Beck; Cynthia East, special education at Central; Asa Ennis, special education intern at ESC; Susie Hershberger, grade 6 at Daly; Sierra Minnix, TBD at Beardsley; Holly Morlan, grade 3 at Feeser; Amy Murray, counselor at West Side; Taylor Raber, grade 3 at Roosevelt; Stacy Reisdorf, science at North Side; Riana Sass, special education intern at ESC; Joleen Smith, health at EACC; Wendy Weaver, grade 4 at Hawthorne; and Katie Wilson, grade 6 at Pinewood.
- approved the administrative reassignment of the following three (3) classified employees to certified staff members: Natasha Gawthrop, special education intern at Hawthorne; Kerry Gianesi, special education at Feeser; and Leigh Lechlitner, special education at Woodland.
- approved parental leave certified staff member, Aliya Caldwell, grade 2 at Woodland.
- approved maternity leave for the following two (2) certified staff members: Adrienne Bashore, guidance at Memorial; and Rachel Mallo, grade 5 at Daly.
- approved personal leave for the following three (3) certified staff members: Karla Doyle, kindergarten at Beck; Sherry Finn, ENL at Pinewood; and Lisa Miller, language arts at Memorial.
- confirmed employment of the following two (2) classified employees: Christofer Fuller, custodian at West Side; and Andrew Sokolowski, custodian at Bristol.

- confirmed the resignation of the following sixteen (16) certified staff members: Dawn Ashton, music at Hawthorne; Jennifer Beck, math at West Side; Bradley Cogdell, science at West Side; Corrine Dail, grade 1 at Roosevelt; Jamie Gonzalez Torres, ENL at Bristol; Jeannie Hawkins, grade 3 at Osolo; Jacquelyn Krull, grade 6 at Bristol; Stephanie Marks, grade 1 at Bristol; Leah Michel, grade 4 at Hawthorne; Sarah Oman, grade 1 at Osolo; Julie Springer, grade 6 at Pinewood; Nichole Swoape, speech pathologist; Andre Tchakerian, social studies at Memorial; Cynthia Troxell, grade 5 Beardsley; Ashley Turner, speech pathologist at ESC; and Rebekah Watson, psychologist at ESC.
- confirmed the retirement of the following three (3) classified employees: Carol Bradshaw, secretary at Central; Patricia Denlinger, registered nurse at Osolo; and Cathy Snyder, paraprofessional at Woodland.
- withdrawal of resignation of classified employee, Karen Fraire Vargas, food service at West Side/Monger.
- confirmed the resignation of the following fourteen (14) classified employees: Grace Bontrager, paraprofessional at PACE; Kristen Cooper, paraprofessional at Eastwood; Stacey Illnicki-Weaver, food service at Memorial; Ashlea LaBine, paraprofessional at Feeser; Dolly Lozano, paraprofessional at Hawthorne; Cassidy Parsons, paraprofessional at Memorial; Derria Pratcher, paraprofessional at Pierre Moran; Alison Riser, paraprofessional at Monger; Alysa Shultz, paraprofessional at Osolo; Melanie Summers, secretary at ESC; Alison Tipton, paraprofessional at North Side; Kaylie VanGalder, paraprofessional at North Side; Charlie Warr, bus driver at Transportation; and Heather Wong, food service at North Side.
- heard Superintendent Thalheimer thank those involved with the 21st Century Self Care Program. Dr. Thalheimer also congratulated Mrs. Molyneaux and the Elkhart Education Foundation on the opening of the Schoolhouse Supply Store and thanked them for the breakfast earlier in the day.
- heard Board member, Susan Daiber, welcome everyone back to the new school year.